RSS Feed

World Vision: Sponsor A Child, Change Lives!

Posted on

What is World Vision

According to their website:

World Vision is a Christian relief, development and advocacy organization dedicated to working with children, families and their communities worldwide to reach their full potential by addressing the causes of poverty and injustice. World Vision partners with children and the communities among the poorest areas to help improve lives and combat poverty.”

What they do:

“World Vision strives to build thriving communities where peace and justice prevail and all can enjoy security, opportunity and happiness. World Vision works for the well being of poor and vulnerable people through:

Sustainable development. World Vision works alongside the disadvantaged communities, enabling them to use their own resources, capacities and potentials so that they can own and define their own development process and achieve healthy, fuller lives of dignity, justice and hope.

Disaster relief. World Vision responds to life-threatening situations where its involvement is needed and appropriate, It seeks to protect vulnerable people, especially children amid difficult circumstances by providing emergency relief such as food, water, shelter, medicine and clothing, and preparedness for future disasters.

Raising public awareness and advocating for justice. By increasing understanding of poverty and injustice, World Vision seeks to promote public involvement and government policies that alleviate poverty.”

Sponsor A Child Program

I am fond of kids, especially those who really value the importance of a good education, it never ceases to touch my heart every time I watch documentaries featuring those underprivileged children striving to get to school or even have some school supplies that they can use. I can relate very well since I have a bunch of childhood friends who have experienced the same dilemmas. I have always wanted to give them something, anything, just to help them feel better. But I can only give so much since I am just a kid myself.

And I have this childhood dream of having a big house built inside a huge property where I can let those underprivileged kids to stay, play, learn and help them fulfill their dreams. I want to give them the hope of a brighter future. Since then I have always wanted to participate in the endeavors of charitable institutions focused on children, maybe become a volunteer if not a sponsor…and for me, World Vision’s Sponsor A Child is one great opportunity to get involved, finally! Yes, it is a small thing compared to my childhood dream but this one small thing will help change a little child’s vision of his/her future. And maybe someday he/she will help change lives as well, just like Efren Peñaflorida, Jr. and his push-cart classroom for the out-of-school youth.

I've already sponsored one child...and it really made me happy! How about you?
I’ve already sponsored one child…and it really made me happy! How about you?

“The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step.” ~ Lao Tzu

About Regina

Arts and Crafts Junkie. DIYer. Newbie Photographer. Event Coordinator. Freelance Writer/Blogger. Coffee Lover. Domestic Goddess.

Leave a Reply

